top of page


On 25 April 1945, the UN Conference on International Organization began in San Francisco, attended by 50 governments and a number of non-governmental organizations involved in drafting the United Nations Charter. Under the UN Charter, United Nations established six main organs, including Security Council. The Security Council is divided into two committees, the Committee of Experts on Rules of Procedure and the Committee on the Admission of New Members.


Five nations, reflecting the global balance of power when the United Nations was created, have permanent membership on the Security Council: the United States, Britain, France, Russia, and China. The permanent members of the Security Council reserve special voting rights. Permanent members reserve the right of veto, or the ability to strike down resolutions with their singular vote.


The Security Council held its first session on 17 January 1946 at Church House, Westminster, London. Since its first meeting, the Security Council has taken permanent residence at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City.A representative of each of its members must be present at all times at UN Headquarters so that the Security Council can meet at any time as the need arises. Security Council will meet once again in order to intensify the concerns regarding global issues and ensuring security, sustainability and stability in the world.

This committee has an open agenda. 

This committee is apt for both inexperienced and experienced delegates.

Under-Secretary-General responsible for United Nations Security Council: Ahmet Zafer Sağlık

Academic Assistant: Doruk Eray Sev

bottom of page