Formally known as the Treaty of Friendship, Co-operation and Mutual Assistance, the Warsaw Pact was created on 14 May 1955, right after the accession of West Germany to the Alliance. It complemented the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance, which was the regional economic organization set up by the Soviet Union in January 1949 for the communist states of Central and Eastern Europe.The Warsaw Pact embodied what was referred to as “the Eastern bloc”, while NATO and its member states represented the Western bloc. 

NATO and the Warsaw Pact were ideologically hostile and, over time, constructed up their own defences starting an arms race that lasted for the duration of the Cold War.
Each country in the Warsaw Pact pledged to defend the others against any outside military threat. While the organization stated that each nation would respect the sovereignty and political independence of the others, each country was in some way controlled by the Soviet Union. The pact dissolved at the end of the Cold War in 1991.

Agenda Item: Open Agenda

This committee is apt for experienced delegates.

Under-Secretary-General responsible for Warsaw Pact, 1955: Tolga Yeşil